Alex Reid Trophy Results

The Alex Reid Memorial Trophy is played for by 8 clubs who play at the Peak, Stirling and is one of the largest bonspiels organised by clubs themselves. It has been running since the 19th Century, originally on Larbert Pond, before moving to Falkirk Ice Rink and then Stirling following Falkirk’s closure. The clubs have changed over that time and now consist of Borestone & Stirling, Falkirk, Denny, Bonnybridge, Laurieston & Zetland, Grangemouth, Sauchie & Bannockburn and Torbrex. 

Alex Reid Trophy (16th & 23rd March) was played over two nights for the first time with new rules and a new club playing to replace the now defunct Larbert Club. Unfortunately Larbert were the original sponsors of this trophy and will no longer take part. Torbrex took their place in the tournament. As it is no longer played over a single night, the rules were changed to offer 2 points for a win and then ends and shots counted. 

16th March   
Borestone & Stirling9Grangemouth7
Sauchie & Bannockburn9Bonnybridge5
Laurieston & Zetland5Falkirk3
23rd March   
Borestone & Stirling1Sauchie & Bannockburn7
Grangemouth3Laurieston & Zetland5
TeamPointsEndsShots +Shots
Sauchie & Bannockburn4101016
Laurieston & Zetland47410
Borestone & Stirling24-410

Sauchie & Bannockburn won the trophy this year.

Falkirk present trophy to Alan Watt, Sauchie & Bannockburn