Stirling win Maxwell Trophy

Twelve players travelled to Ayr on Tue 7th March to compete in the Maxwell Trophy Finals having qualified from the East group stage, alongside Kinross, over the course of the 2022/23 season. 

Stirling 1Stirling 2Stirling 3
Lee McClearyBrian FergusonJohn Davie
Gavin FlemingNeil MurrayMark Watt
James DunnRory McNairDavid McEwan
Stuart Brand Dougie Telfer Les Goodfellow

Stirling were drawn against Greenacres Ice Rink in the semi-final, while Kinross faced Lanarkshire.

The Greenacres side were strong favourites to retain the Maxwell Trophy for the third year in a row and raced to an early lead in all three games versus Stirling.

Stirling2 were ultimately defeated, however a late score of 4-shots by Stirling3 in the 7th end levelled the match and John Davie’s team went on to steal a victory in the 8th end. Meanwhile Stirling1 also needed to steal in the last; one shot down without last stone advantage. They piled on the pressure to lie game with several stones guarded in the rings, the Greenacres skip jammed his double take-out attempt giving Stirling the 2-shots they needed and an overall 2-1 win and place in the final against Lanarkshire.

 In the final Stirling1 dominated their Hamilton based opposition with a heavy victory.  Stirling3 however could not repeat the heroics of the semi final and were ultimately well beaten by a veteran Lanarkshire team. It all came down to Stirling2 to decide the Maxwell Trophy. One shot down in the last end Stirling had last stone advantage.

With his final rock Brian Ferguson faced a half guarded Lanarkshire counter. There was silence in the building but Brian was not affected by the pressure nailing the hack-weight take-out to pick up the two, the game, and with it the Maxwell Trophy 2022/23.

Skips Brian Ferguson, John Davie and Lee McCleary get their hands on the Maxwell Trophy
Stirling’s captain, Gavin Fleming, collected the impressive Maxwell Trophy on behalf of his team.

Gavin thanked all players and spectators and explained that this is the first time that Stirling has won the Maxwell in its 75 year history, making the win particularly special.

Full details on the Scottish Curling Website.